While in transit to Bali, I received an email from Lizzie Livingston saying that she and her family happened to be in Bali as well – their visit overlapped mine by 1 day and coincidentally, they were staying a few minutes walk from my hotel!  Lizzie’s 5-year-old son Noah is a very good friend of mine.  I have not seen him and his family since they moved from New York to Hong Kong last year, and it was such a happy reunion!

I met them at their hotel pool, where Noah and I spent the middle of the afternoon flopping belly-first down the big water slide.  We all ate Haagen Dazs ice cream bars, then took a siesta that was complete with apple juice, wine and Dora the Explorer on DVD.  Did you know that Dora has a little brother and sister, as well as a Jack-in-the-box who is riddled with performance anxiety?  I didn’t.

We had dinner and went to a Balinese performance afterward – apparently Noah is obsessed with shows like this.  It was wonderful to see them, and I had sooo much fun!

Marc and Lizzie, watching the Balinese show

Marc and Lizzie, watching the Balinese show

Noah on stage with the cast, after the show

Noah on stage with the cast for photo call

After a nightcap with Lizzie and Sean, I headed home and very contentedly into bed.  I could not imagine a nicer way to spend my first full day in Bali 🙂

I was woken up bright and early this morning because everyone in the apartment had made big plans to go see the sunrise.  We walked to the ocean and discovered that, every morning, the beaches are populated with hundreds of Balinese people who leave offerings to the Hindu gods and goddesses as the sun rises.  These offerings are swept away by the rising tide.

Sunrise on the Indian Ocean

Sunrise on the Indian Ocean

Balinese people on the beach

Balinese people on the beach

Offerings to the Hindu gods and goddesses

Offerings to the Hindu gods and goddesses

In the later morning, I rented a bicycle to ride around Nusa Dua and along the beach.  I almost got sucked into a water aerobics class (eeek!), but my work pulled me back into reality and we spent the afternoon running errands and gathering supplies for the ICAAP Condom Zone.  We had a gorgeous dinner on the beach, and now I am having a night cap of warm milk and sugar… wine is heavily taxed here, so it is nearly impossible to find a bottle (even a really bad one) for less than $50 US.  So, As Adrian would say, leche caliente it is.

Adrian on the beach at dinnertime

Adrian on the beach at dinnertime

Check in tomorrow for our first workshop at Yakeba with injecting drug users… Til then, xojl

