2009 was a rough year for me.  My good friend Rebecca suggested some time ago that I build a boat to set sail while in Indonesia, and with it let go of all the negative things weighing me down.  And so that’s what I did on my last day here.

The Indian Ocean, where I released my offering

The Indian Ocean, where I released my offering

On my first day in Bali, Lizzie Livingston was telling me about the many Hindu offerings I would see on the beach, streets and sidewalks here.  Lizzie said that she felt so badly the first few times she accidentally ran into these delicate baskets with her stroller, but the Balinese people never seemed to mind.  She soon realized it was because they had no attachment to the object itself; it was the simple act of offering that was so important.  Anything that happened to the baskets after that was a part of life, meant to be.

I didn’t take a photo of it as it washed out to sea, because having the picture as a souvenir doesn’t matter.  It’s the act of letting go that really counts.

Me, circa now

Me, circa now

