I have arrived safely home from Bali, but I wanted to close out the trip with one last post for the graphic designers in my life

One week before leaving for Bali, my business cards arrived without scoring; this is problematic, as my cards are all tri-fold.  Fish, my sistah wife, was kind enough to take me to New York Central Art Supply and helped me purchase everything a girl needs to score her own cards:

One (1) self-healing cutting mat:  Surface used for scoring with a bone folder.  The mat protects my tabletop and can also serve as a measuring tool when I use the gridlines on the mat to line up my cards. Because the mat is self-healing, the bone folder will not create permanent groves in the mat

One (1) cork-backed ruler:  Semi-flexible stainless steel ruler with cork backing to prevent slippage

One (1) bone folder:  A dull edged device used to crease material in crafts such as bookbinding, card making and any other craft where a sharp crease is needed.  Often made from the leg bone of a cow, deer or similar animal (hence its name)

Sitting in our kitchen in Bali, scoring my business cards

Sitting in our kitchen in Bali, scoring my business cards

Piles of my cards, pre- and post-scoring

Piles of my cards, pre- and post-scoring

Cool font on a case of Balinese water

Cool font on a case of Balinese water

Ladies room icon

Ladies room icon

Gentlemen's room icon... reminds me of the ghosts from Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away

Gentlemen's room icon... reminds me of the ghosts from Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away

Sign near the beach in Benoa... Perhaps warning, "In the event of a tsunami, seek refuge on elevated ground" (?)

Sign near the beach in Benoa... Perhaps warning, "In the event of a tsunami, seek refuge on elevated ground" (?)

Incredible color of carnations in the bed of a truck in Denpasar

Incredible color of carnations in the bed of a truck in Denpasar; I'm sure that the camera on my iPhone doesn't do it justice

And the New York adventure begins again now 🙂  Stay tuned for news on the home front in the coming weeks… xojl

