Joy Lynn on The Great Wall of China, 12 December 2009

Joy Lynn on The Great Wall of China, 12 December 2009

Dear friends and family,

If you’re wondering why you haven’t seen any updates from me on Twitter since I’ve landed here in Beijing, it is because the Chinese authorities blocked access to www.twitter.com (along with other major social networking and social media websites) before the 20th anniversary of the Tiananmen Square massacre on June 4th of this year.  According to Luicy, our translator, you can discuss the events of that day in 1989 as much as you like, so long as the government does not hear you.  Many professors from her alma mater, whose students led the protests, fled China immediately after the massacre and are are only now returning to their home country after the government has pledged repeatedly to no longer persecute them.

For now, if you are curious about the work I am doing and my whereabouts this holiday season, you can check in via my blog http://CircaJoyLynn.wordpress.com

I have found a way around the Chinese authorities’ block of WordPress (at least for now) thanks to my colleagues in Ethiopia – they have had to deal with such censorship from their government repeatedly since the internet was introduced to their country, and they always find a way 😉

If you would like to subscribe to my blog, you can just click on the Subscribe to feed link on the upper left hand corner of any page, directly underneath the banner photo and title.  I just recently learned from friends that this was an option; apparently you will receive any updates to my blog directly to your inbox.  I am currently traveling through my 7th country since the end of October – Haiti, the Dominican Replublic, South Africa, Russia, China, the US, Canada, and I’ll be headed to Puerto Rico before the New Year.  So there are lots of photos and little tidbits to read if ever you find yourself with some downtime

I hope you are all having a safe and happy holiday season!  I miss you guys, and I look forward to catching up with all of you back in the US this January 🙂

Much love,

