As many of you know, I have spent the better part of the last month filming my condom workshop in the 6 official languages of the United Nations 🙂  Enormous thanks to The Condom Project team and Dylan Dullea of Middle Six Feet for all of their tireless work, and for the incredible photos documenting our weeks of shooting.

To give you some background on the genesis of my condom workshop…

In the penthouse of a residence hall on the corner of 10th Street and Broadway, I attended my first Phallic Food Festival during my freshman year at New York University.  The evening was made up of dinner with sexually suggestive foods (melons, hot dogs & buns, ice cream, cherries), followed by a safer sex workshop conducted by a graduate student from NYU’s Center for Health Promotion.

I felt so drawn to the format of gathering over food, asking honest questions and sharing clear & accurate information (dialogue that was so often stigmatized in other situations) that I applied to become a Sexual Health Advocate and began facilitating workshops about safer sex practices and the use of sex toys within our academic community.  A big shout-out to Jane Bogart for all of her wonderful work and inspiration!

After graduation, I founded the outreach program for Condomania where I further developed my workshop to include details on the variety of condoms and lubricants available in the US market, as well as information on alternative barriers and condoms made of materials other than latex.  Condomania’s outreach program grew to a national level, and my workshop was featured by MTV, The Discovery Channel and Fox, among other media outlets.  With the support of Condomania, I founded the sexual health education program for the Joey DiPaolo AIDS Foundation, creating a version of my workshop specifically for HIV+ teenagers at Camp TLC (Teens Living a Challenge).

When I began working with The Condom Project in 2004, my workshop developed an international scope, with sections that were easily malleable to include culturally specific information from the countries in which I was presenting it.  The United Nations Population Fund began utilizing my workshop to educate UNFPA staff at headquarters in NYC, as well as in regions including the English and Dutch speaking Caribbean and at conferences such as the International Union on Sexually Transmitted Infections in South Africa.  Much of my work was also presented to the international community in Mexico City at AIDS 2008.

And now, my little condom workshop that could has been filmed in the 6 official United Nations languages and will present itself once again, along with a culturally-specific set of female condom animations, to the international community in Vienna, Austria this July.  I facilitated my workshop on film in English, and I had the pleasure of working with 5 lovely actresses that played “me” in their native languages of Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian and Spanish.

Enjoy the photos that follow, and many thanks to all of my readers for your continued interest in my work – it means a lot to me 🙂

"English - Scene 9, Take 2!"

"English - Scene 9, Take 2!"

Franck in Director's chair

Franck in the Director's chair

Setting up a display of female condoms

Setting up a display of female condoms

Adrian dressing the set and inflating the stars ;-)

Adrian dressing the set and inflating the stars 😉

Franck & Joy Lynn on set

Franck & Joy Lynn on set

Me played by Ayat, circa Arabic

Me played by Ayat, circa Arabic

T'rah, circa hair & make-up

T'rah, circa hair & make-up

Me played by Echo, circa Chinese

Me played by Echo, circa Chinese

Sorting condoms by style

Sorting condoms by style

Jen et notre interprète Théodore - c'est moi, en français!

Jen et notre interprète Théodore - c'est moi, en français!

Always something to smile about

Always something to smile about

Me played by Jenya, circa Russian

Me played by Jenya, circa Russian

TCP team, setting up the shot

TCP team, setting up a shot

Running lines, circa Spanish

Running lines, circa Spanish

Ronnie (our Chinese interpreter), Joe (our editor), Dylan & Franck

Ronnie (our Chinese interpreter), Joe (our editor), Dylan & Franck

Adrian working hard with the synthetic condoms

Adrian working hard with the synthetic condoms

On set with Susan, my shadow from Baruch College Campus High School

On set with Susan, my shadow from Baruch College Campus High School

Getting ready for b-roll

Getting ready for b-roll

"Hiyee!"

"Hiyeee!"

"Byeeee!"

"Byeeee!"

Stay tuned for news from my exploratory trip to Vienna, Austria next week! And as always, don’t forget to check out the Safer Sexy Tidbits section of the blog for daily updates.  Til then… xoxojl

