This spring, I had the pleasure of having Susan, a student from Baruch College Campus High School in NYC, shadow me for her Senior Exit Project 🙂

She came to a day of filming my condom & lubricant workshop in the 6 United Nations languages, shouldering the duty of calling out Scenes and Take numbers during the shoot; she observed an afternoon of editing the films with our editor and The Condom Project team; she got caught in the middle (physically) of a mild contract dispute between a colleague and a translator, simply because her chair was situated between them and she was too polite to move…

And she took a trip with me to The Museum of Sex to visit the Rubbers exhibit and do research on displays and installations for our Condom Zone… on Mother’s Day (thank you, Susan’s mom!).

Susan, shadowing on set

Susan, shadowing on set

"Spanish - Scene 7, Take 1!"

"Spanish - Scene 7, Take 1!"

Editing the films, circa 6 languages

Editing the films, circa 6 languages

Antique condom machine in the Museum of Sex NYC "Rubbers" exhibit

Antique condom machine in the Museum of Sex NYC "Rubbers" exhibit

Boots in the permanent collection at MoSex

Boots in the permanent collection at MoSex

The Sex Lives of Animals

The Sex Lives of Animals exhibit

A recent email from Susan, who is now officially a high school graduate

Hey Joy Lynn!
How are you? I just wanted to let you know that I did really well on the presentation. I got perfect score on everything! One of my judges was my principal’s boss, so I was a little nervous. However, you prepared me really well and I had all the information for every question! Thank you so much for taking the time to help me for my presentation. I really enjoyed shadowing you and if there’s anything I can help with please let me know!
Susan

I have thoroughly enjoyed out time together, and I wish we could have had more of it before my trip to Vienna for the summer.  It was a privilege to have her as a honorary member of our team this spring, and we all look forward to seeing the wonderful things she will do in her bright future!
