As many of you know, I am not usually home in NYC (or in the US, for that matter) during the holiday season.  World AIDS Day is on December 1st every year, and it is customary for me to be traveling for work from mid-November through early January.  I am home now because we are completing the interpretation of my work on condoms and lubricants available around the world into American Sign Language – stay tuned for that blog post, coming soon!

I was originally looking forward to celebrating the holidays in one way but, due to recent events, it became necessary for me to make alternative plans…

Ann at God's Love We Deliver

Ann at God's Love We Deliver

So today I had the absolute pleasure of spending the morning with Ann, delivering holiday meals, Blizzard Boxes and gift bags to fellow New Yorkers, courtesy of God’s Love We Deliver.

God’s Love We Deliver serves men, women and children living with HIV/AIDS, cancer and other serious illnesses by preparing and delivering nutritious, high-quality meals to those who are unable to provide or prepare meals for themselves.  They also provide illness-specific nutrition education and counseling to clients, families, care providers and other service organizations.  All services are provided free of charge without regard to income.

Ann and her car

Ann and her car

Bags for delivery, decorated by school children in NYC

Bags for delivery, decorated by school children in NYC

Everyone who received our deliveries was so grateful – we were greeted with smiling faces and warm words of thanks.  It was the perfect way to spend my Christmas Eve morning in NYC!

After a quick lunch at Steak Frites in Union Square, I made my way to my next stop: an afternoon donation appointment at New York Blood Center.

Me, donating whole blood

Me, donating whole blood

I enjoyed cookies and juice in their recovery area then came home, took a quick nap and proceeded to decorate my apartment while watching an A Christmas Story marathon on TV…

A Christmas Story marathon

A Christmas Story marathon

Candy canes, which also happen to be vibrators - no kidding!

Candy canes, which also happen to be vibrators - no kidding!

I am looking forward to waking up tomorrow morning and starting a new day… Who knows what it will bring!  Until then: Happy holidays to you and your loved ones 🙂

Dreaming of a White Christmas… Joy Lynn

