My Macchiato

My Macchiato

Spending this first week of July in Washington DC, meeting people from the community as I await the arrival of the rest of my colleagues, has given me a renewed desire to once again state my heartfelt adoration for the Ethiopian people.  Ethiopians represent the largest African immigrant population in DC – surveys show that one in every five black African immigrants here is an Ethiopian – which explains why I have been stopped so many times and questioned with delight about the Amharic tattoo just above my right shoulder blade…

Zoma! Amharic for "Long, beautiful hair"

Zoma! Amharic for “Long, beautiful hair”

The following images are some of my favorite moments from my last two weeks in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; both inside the ICASA conference and out and about in the city.  Enjoy!

Hanging our banner in my Education Zone

Hanging our banner in my Education Zone

Me, smiling

Me, loving my work

Me and Sissay, my Amharic & French interpreter

Me and Sissay, my Amharic & French interpreter

DKT condom fashion show!

DKT condom fashion show!

Jesus and Sara

Jesus and Sara

Cal and Ayele

Cal and Ayele

Tires

Tires in the neighborhood

Coffee Ceremony

Traditional Coffee Ceremony

Our banner outside the ICASA venue

Our banner outside the ICASA venue

.

Tshirts…

.

… tshirts…

.

… and more tshirts!

What's YOUR Slogan?

What’s YOUR Slogan?

Youth at the Ghion

Youth at the Ghion

Condom Art Pin making

Condom Art Pin making

With our CONDOMIZE! manequins

With our CONDOMIZE! mannequins

Art in the Community Village

Art in the Community Village

Me and "Mama"

Me and “Mama”

Condom Art Pins at the African Union

Condom Art Pins at the African Union

Lunch!

Lunch!

Inside a chat house

An afternoon inside a chat house

Ambo and lime

Ambo and lime

Lovely Rosa

Lovely Rosa

Our neighborhood in Addis

Our neighborhood in Addis

More from me soon, circa Washington DC, on our Road to AIDS 2012

.

.

=
I love hearing from you –
post your questions & comments here,
circa anytime.  You can also
Like me on Facebook & Follow me on Twitter!

